GSoC2017 (Fedora) — Week 5-8

I continued to do the work about the migration of the Plinth. I summarized the packages which are needed by Plinth and their alternates in Fedora.

Sometimes there will be a little different in details between the packages which have the similar name in Fedora and Debian, I’ll check them one by one and find better solutions.

About libjs-bootstrap and libjs-modernizr, I can’t find a suitable alternate, so I extracted the .deb package in Fedora and put them under the javascript/.

As you know, most foreign websites are blocked in the Chinese mainland, which include all of the Google services, many frequently-used IM software, Wikipedia and so on, so we have to use VPN or other ways to connect to the servers located abroad to load these websites. But lots of VPN (include mine) in China are blocked unexpectedly in July because of some political reasons, I can’t update my blogs and codes until I find a new way to “over the wall”, so my work is delayed this moth.

And because my mentor also lives in China and he refuses to use the non-free software in China, we use gmail and telegram to communicate in normal times, so I losed contact with my mentor for many days. As soon as we are able to contact with each other in the last few days, I told him the work I did this month and the question I met. For this case, we are thinking about scaling down our project temporarily and delaying some unimportant work, I will puts forward concrete solving plans with my mentor as soon as possible.

One thought on “GSoC2017 (Fedora) — Week 5-8

Leave a Reply

